Beautiful Nights and the heavy weight of God’s love

My first post -This blog formed only in my head about a month ago when I was driving home from dropping my brother at a party and I got a little sentimental, overwhelmed by God! As per.

The earliness of evening due to winter seemed particularly noticeable that night. The trees’ leaves were just beginning to turn gold at the edges, with a few darker leaves falling from the branches to line the road. Above them the sky was a mass of shifting colours of midnight blue, purple and a kind of inky colour. The street lamps were turning on, sending a hazy ring of orange glow into the sky. It was a Saturday night and so I could see families cuddled up on sofas behind windows, tucked in away from the dark; or there were figures pounding along street pavements, takeaway in hand, or else jogging or tapping cold feet against the ground as they waited at bus stops.

It was just such a picture of LIFE. All of these thousands of people just living, spending time with themselves, their families and their friends and it was super beautiful. But equally, I just felt this crazy longing feeling in  my chest, like such a weight at the loveliness of it all, but also this unshakeable sensation of the smallness of us all. The lines and lines of homes, full of people, noisy, cosy, comfortable. Above, the night sky, vast, silent and with the scent of frost, the stars whizzing by. God is so much bigger than the smallness of our Saturday nights and that is just…breathtaking.

And yet, the thought struck me of what do we do with this knowledge? To know God as wonderful creator and to know Jesus as man who lived among us in all the smallness of our lives, is LIFE-CHANGING but often, I just don’t know what I do with that.

I think it was that all consuming thought that weighed heavy in my chest, that made me think I need to write this blog. What do we do with knowing the Creator of the universe? Let’s go live life and find out.

“Go then to all peoples everywhere and make them my disciples: baptise them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit, and teach them to obey everything I have commanded you. And I will be with you always, to the end of the age.” – Matthew 28:19-20

Leave a Reply

